Story A Day Challenge – Sept 13 – How Was Work?

This story relates closely with a previous piece, which can be found here.

The Prompt

Write about an odd couple. No, your characters don’t have to be an actual romantic couple. They can be siblings, classmates, friends, enemies, or anything in-between. But you do need to have a couple (two people), and they do need to be at odds. Their personalities and their motivations should be dramatically divergent. Try to exaggerate their differences and see what action transpires. 

How Was Work?

David Coleman unlocked the front door, pushing down on the handle and letting it swing open nice and wide. The warmth of the house eased his mood as he shut the door behind him, locking it up nice and tight. It had been a while since he had been home.

The chandelier was on in the foyer, allowing him to find his way through the archway under the stairs and into the living room and kitchen area. His wife was already cooking, pouring the pesto on the pasta.

“Honey, I’m home,” David announced, setting his briefcase on the floor and giving her a kiss on the cheek. “How was your week?”

She pushed him away. “Uneventful,” she replied. “How was your health product conference in Portland? Did you learn a lot? I’m sure Verabrar Corp. appreciates it.”

“What’s wrong?” David asked. “Did something happen while I was gone?”

“When were you going to tell me, David?” She approached him again, pointing a finger. “When were you going to tell me that Verabrar’s health products were only a cover?”

David grabbed her hands forcefully. “Sarah, I don’t know what you’re talking about. I’m the manager of Verabrar Seattle, and you know as well as I do that we sell products to hospitals and private practices. You’ve been to our facility.”

Sarah struggled with him. David let her go and backed away as she grabbed a knife from the counter. “You kidnap people, David. Innocent people, and lock them up…and experiment on them.”

“Who told you that?”

“No one had to tell me. I hacked into your desktop,” Sarah admitted. “I guess we both have our secrets. What I couldn’t find is why you kidnap these people.”

David continued to back away from his wife. “I can explain everything. Can we please just sit down and discuss this as a family?”

“You aren’t bringing our children into this.” She motioned for the sofa in the living room. “Go on. Sit.”

David stepped back and sat on the sofa, with his wife right across from him, knife pointed. “Alright,” he said. “Verabrar hunts down and captures dangerous individuals, ones with extraordinary abilities, super powers some might say. We work with the FBI to round up these individuals in the United States, and with the CIA to find individuals at our London location.”

“I don’t believe you,” Sarah said, her voice cold. “You’re trying to confuse me. The government would never help you imprison people. I don’t believe your story about special powers either. You’re sick David, you are believing your own lies.”

David raised his hand and channeled his ability. He felt some pleasure in hearing her gasp, fear beginning to take hold. “Is this truth enough for you? I am one of the good guys.” He leaned forward, watching her squirm. “Go on, ask me what I was doing this past week, in Pierce County, and in Portland.”

“W-What were you doing in this week.” David could tell that she didn’t really want to know.

“Well, first I covered Verabrar’s involvement with a prominent family by destroying a murder scene. Actually, I blew up the house. I’m sure you saw that on the news: a terrorist in Washington. The murderer is a terrorist, an escapee from our facility in Seattle. I went to Portland to see if he went back home.” He smiled. “You don’t even know the man you married, the one you fell in love with so many years ago. I’ve killed people, I’ve done illegal things for the greater good. I had to hide it from you for your own protection.”

“To protect me?” Sarah raised the knife again. “You could have put our children in danger. You lied to us, David. I can’t forgive you for that.” She jumped up and fled from the living room, snatching her car keys from the counter.

“Where are you going?”

“Away. I’m taking the kids with me.”

“Where are they, Sarah? Where are my kids?” David asked, realizing that they weren’t home.

“Like I would tell you, after everything you just told me.” David watched her open the front door, then scream. The monster on the other side was covered in slime and stained spikes that erupted from his skin. He grabbed Sarah and held her near a spike, his claws digging into her skin and drawing blood.

“David Coleman,” the monster greeted him.

“Marshall Asotin,” David replied, raising his hands high and summoning a ball of flames. “I take it you want to kill me, just like you killed Crystal Eddings?”

“I want you dead Coleman,” Marshall admitted, “but I need your help. I can’t control these abilities anymore. I need you to fix what you did to me. So, what do you say? You help me, and your wife lives.”

Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

Leave a comment