Current writing project: a dystopia

I have decided to start experimenting with other genres than epic fantasy. I am going to attempt a dystopian novel or short story based on the nation I had created on a role play forum a while back.

I decided to write a dystopia because I recently read Ray Bradbury’s Fahrenheit 451 and I spent a few weeks studying dystopian literature at school.

Currently, I do not have a title for the book, but I do have the names of a few characters and all of the countries.

This is different than my epic fantasy novel because 1) I don’t actually care about this one, its mostly to experiment and learn, and 2) I might actual publish every chapter on this blog instead of keeping it a secret. Therefore, it may be a while before the first chapter is even done.

Overview

The novel will take place in the Republic of Norenium after the conclusion of a bloody civil war and during a time of great tension and unrest. The government begins to reorganize and tighten its grasp on the citizens, promising protection and welfare but instead bringing death and oppression.

I will also reveal the names of the main characters:

  • Nolan Wiseman
  • Aurora Scott
Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

One thought on “Current writing project: a dystopia”

Leave a Reply

