Instagram is broken: Hashtags not working, troubling smaller accounts

UPDATE 6:34 pm: The issue has finally been fixed, although Instagram hasn’t said a word.

Many users have noticed that over the past 48 hours hashtags have not been working properly on the widely-popular photo-sharing app Instagram. That’s right: Instagram hashtags are not working.

This may sound like a small issue, but hashtags are the source of pushing content to potential viewers on the app. Without a working hashtag system, many smaller accounts that rely on hashtags to get likes and traffic to their profile have seen a significant decline.

For myself, my photos that normally get 40-50 likes on a given day have been getting 10-20 likes and only from my followers. This is sad because the photos that I have been posting over the past 24 hours are some of my best that I really wanted people to see and share.

Now, I have a profile that’s almost dead. No traffic, no new likes, no new followers. Only the larger accounts with thousands or millions of followers haven’t noticed this and the issue has escaped the mainstream media.

Instagram itself hasn’t even acknowledged the issue, leaving its users in the dark about what’s happening and when it might be resolved. As a result, users have taken to other social media such as Twitter, using the hashtag #Instagramdown to voice their frustration.

This isn’t the way social media is supposed to work. It’s supposed to be a place to share content and inspire others to create new content.

So now I give a plea to Instagram for the thousands of frustrated Instagram users who have taken to Twitter and Facebook: FIX THE HASHTAGS AND ACKNOWLEDGE THE ISSUE.

Below: Instagram users have taken to Twitter:

https://storify.com/chasecharaba/instagram-s-hashtags-not-working

Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

6 thoughts on “Instagram is broken: Hashtags not working, troubling smaller accounts”

  1. The hashtag feature isn’t working on my Instagram page right now, and it hasn’t been working for the past 2 weeks; months for other users. Instagram is not acknowledging the problem. I report the issue on a daily basis at no avail. No response, no fix! Thousands of users experiencing the same problem are voicing their frustration on discussion boards and twitter. I just can’t believe IG is ignoring this major issue! It’s 2017!!

    I started IG about 4 weeks ago. I had an average of 35-55 likes per image on a given day. Now, I only get likes/comments from my followers, and because my account is new, and my hashtags don’t work, I have a very small follower base. It’s nearly impossible to generate traffic in ones account under this circumstances.

    I don’t know what else to do. Any suggestions?

    Like

    1. I am having the exact same issue. I thought I was the only one because I can’t find anything about it online. Please let me know if you find any fix to this! I just started my account a couple weeks ago and I just can’t get any followers without hashtags! I can see my photos in the stream when I click a hashtag, but if people who aren’t already following me do it, they can’t see it (I tested this!) SO frustrating.

      Like

  2. I’m having same issue. I can’t believe it’s been going on for weeks and months and there’s no fix to this, this is insane! It really ruins the experience. Cant believe this! Has anyone found a solution?

    Like

Leave a Reply

