A Happy Fourth of July & Another Day of Camp NaNoWriMo

It’s that one holiday today, the one where we celebrate the birthday of the United States and when we declared our independence from Great Britain. It’s also a day where people think that they have to launch dozens of fireworks into the air and watch them explode into pretty colors: pink, red, yellow, blue, green, orange, the list goes on.

It’s no secret that I don’t like fireworks. Sure, I love watching them, but I don’t set any off. Fireworks scare the dogs and the cats at my house to the point that they hide for hours. My cat Mazie especially gets stressed and it just keeps getting worse as she gets older. Plus, you can’t tell me that the huge haze that hangs over the land in the days following the Fourth is good for the environment.

Every year it seems that a house catches on fire because of fireworks. It also seems like no one cleans up after their celebrations, leaving the roads and peoples’ yards covered in firework debris.

I don’t want this to turn into too much of a rant, but I really hate fireworks, even if they are really nice to look at. Unfortunately, I do not live in a place where they are banned. Instead, people can legally set them off all week long, and they have been since about June 28.

If you are celebrating Independence Day, then I hope you have a good Fourth of July. If not, then have a good July fourth.

Now on to Camp NaNoWriMo

I moved into Chapter Two yesterday and I’ve done a little editing. I stopped last night at a part that just didn’t seem right, knowing that in the morning I would be able to take that section apart. That’s really what I plan to accomplish today is to make that section better.

I don’t think I’m doing an amazing job at rewriting the first part of my novel this time around, but it is still an improvement over the original draft. The way that I’m looking at it at this point is that if I can finish my novel in the amount of time that George R.R. Martin can (often 5 or 6 years), then I will be okay.

Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

Leave a Reply

