Simple Musings: The Mass Media (I’m Different)

Hello, readers! It’s been a long while since I’ve made a real blog post. Expect more to follow, because spring quarter at the college ends next week! 

This quarter at the college, I’ve been taking some very interesting classes such as Sociology 101 and Environmental Science 150: Environment Issues. These two classes have really made me think about the world around me and have given me new perspectives. However, today’s blog will feature something I’ve realized by taking another class: CMST&102: Intro to Mass Media.

In this class, there’s been a lot of discussion on how the mass media have been changing. Everything has been melding and converting to digital, and it’s changing the ways we do things.

The discovery I made was how old school I seem to be. Now, I don’t mean old school in a social way, I mean that the ways I consume media are different from the ways that my peers do in the 18-24 age group.

Let’s break it down into categories.

Music

Most of my peers are either buying singles from their favorite pop/rap artists on the iTunes Store, or they’re subscribed to streaming services like Spotify, Soundcloud, YouTube Red/Google Play, Pandora, or Apple Music.

These services and great.

However, I’m one of those few people who still buy the physical CD of a new album. I also have a 448-vinyl record collection. Most of this is not new vinyl, but I plan to purchase new vinyl at some point.

Television

Instead of streaming TV shows on Netflix or online, I actually watch most of my favorite TV shows, well, on the TV. I will binge watch TV shows that I haven’t seen on Netflix, but when I eventually catch up with the current season I watch new episodes on TV.

Movies

Yes, I stream movies on Netflix. But also, yes. I do buy Blu-Rays of my favorites.

It’s just interesting that most of these forms of media are now consumed online by my peers, when I don’t even think to consume them in that way.

Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

Leave a Reply

