Creative writing and why I feel dead inside

Hello, hello!

Winter quarter has started at the college and that means I have three new classes: Intro to Computer Information Systems, Creative Writing I, and the Documentary.

Yes, I am taking a creative writing class, and it’s not going as I expected. It’s an online course, which makes it difficult to adjust to. I’ve never taken an online class and in a way having it online is more difficult that going to class every day.

The class is also a lot of work. I’m used to writing fiction when I feel like it, not when I’m ordered to.

So far this week I’ve had to read a chapter from our Writing Poems book and a chapter from our Writing Fiction book. I also had to free write a journal entry every day that was at least a page in length and write 2 short stories based on the assigned subjects.

The course is just difficult. I don’t like writing on demand and I especially don’t like that we have to SHARE our writing with the entire class. I have to share my bad writing that I’ve only had a day to write with the class? No, no, no, no!

I might develop some of the short stories further and share them with you guys, but for right now I’m busy with school.

Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

Leave a Reply

