Camp NaNoWriMo Update 6: the halfway mark

I am official just over halfway done with Camp NaNoWriMo. I am just a little bit ahead of schedule, but I am suffering compared to last year.

My novel is beginning to look nothing like the draft that existed last year, although it will still need a lot of editing and review before I decide to do anything with it, such as sending copies off to my trusted friends to tear apart (I have very honest friends, and from experience I know they will find everything and anything.)

For now I am still battling through the brand new Chapter Four: A Noble Massacre. Previously titled The Arrow it was about a trip the main character takes with her friends to escape from the secrets and lies of the kingdom. The trip ended with an attack on the village they are staying in and Arrellia discovers that she can use magic.

Now, the chapter opens with an intense session of the Royal Court, where King Eckard threatens ambassadors from a distant empire because of their demands, while staying true to a medieval court of the day. That’s where I left off, just before the noble massacre takes place.

Oh, I also made a new temporary cover for Prophecy of Euphinor.

Euphinor cover new

My progress for July 2015 Camp NaNoWriMo:

Day – Total wordcount

  1. 1640
  2. 5502
  3. 5848
  4. 6032
  5. 9042
  6. 11706
  7. 12843
  8. 14055
  9. 14543
  10. 14543
  11. 17828
  12. 19431
  13. 22033
  14. 23835
  15. In Progress
Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

Leave a Reply

