Camp NaNoWriMo Update 5: new challenges

It is now day eight of Camp NaNoWriMo, and writing everyday is starting to become that rhythm I enjoy so much. Nothing beats (okay, that’s exaggerated, but its still enjoyable) writing from dawn til dusk with a bunch of vinyl records playing in the background.

For the past two days I have taken a lunch break from writing, an evening jog, and a break for dinner. My novel has my full attention, which is really great, because it needs it.

I just finished Chapter Two last night, which means I can start writing Chapter Three, which is where things really get interesting. Chapter Two didn’t go how I wanted it, although its much better than the old chapter that was in its place from Camp NaNo 2014. I wanted to build character and show the different sides of Arrellia Sharp. I think I managed to do those two things. I also wanted to build mystery and tension at the end of the chapter, which I think I failed at pretty badly. The mystery is there, but no tension.

I also think the middle of the chapter killed it, so I’ll have to go back to it later on. Right now I’m ready to move on to better parts of the novel.

Along with the writing, I have managed to come up with a few more ideas for later on, including the completely different plots for chapters three and four. Things just got more political than when I wrote them in 2014, and I also cut out one of the big adventure scenes in chapter four in favor of increased tension and conflict at home.

I have also set the following goals for my novel:

  • Make horses realistic
  • Include complex relationships
  • Avoid the “Ding Dong my IQ’s Gone” fantasy trope where love makes a character stupid
  • Emphasize that prophecies in this would are not absolute, which should lead to some interesting conflict at some point

Now, here are my current stats:

Total word count by day:

  • July 1: 1640
  • July 2: 5502
  • July 3: 5848
  • July 4: 6032
  • July 5: 9042
  • July 6: 11706
  • July 7: 12843
Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

Leave a Reply

