Camp NaNoWriMo Update #1

Happy July everyone!

Camp NaNoWriMo, the July version of National Novel Writing Month, kicked off on Wednesday to world-wide enthusiasm. I am rewriting my high fantasy novel, Prophecy of Euphinor this month, and so far I have a pretty good start. I am writing an entirely new prologue and first chapter with barely any relation to what existed before, which shows just how much my novel has transformed into something else.

The temporary cover of my novel, Prophecy of Euphinor
The temporary cover of my novel, Prophecy of Euphinor

I started the day off by constructing an entirely new nobility system in the novel and designating certain characters into powerful Houses. Whereas before there was a King, a council, a justice system, the army, and everyone else, the system is now more complicated and realistic.

The Kingdom of Euphinor now has a King (previously named Avakt, now named Eckard Rhythiel), a Grand Council, a Senate, and a realm of different lordships and vassal states, all working under the crown.

There are now 12 powerful families, or Houses:

  • The House of Rhythiel
  • The House of Wall
  • The House of Savenwil
  • The House of Beorthmit
  • The House of Ethelforth
  • The House of Bearden
  • The House of Wilsie
  • The House of Garbeorn
  • The House of Connell
  • The House of Hudelson
  • The House of Shaver
  • The House of Redegar

The protagonist’s family also got a facelift. What was one the Justiques family is now the much simpler Sharp family, although it does have ties to the powerful Redegar family.

I hope that everyone else is making progress on their novels or short stories.

Before I leave you today here are the first few sentences of my novel, Prophecy of Euphinor:

“The road isn’t safe,” Jon warned the small band of riders as they approached the rocky shoreline of the Fobrinean grasslands. “We should head back towards the capital.”
“What’s the matter?” His superior taunted. “Afraid of the dark? Or do you just want your mother’s cooking before bed?”
Jon knew Sir Taleth Blackmore was trying to get a rise out of him. He directed his horse toward the black waters of the Bay of Otuesnund and continued on with the patrol. “I do not fear the darkness,” he answered after a few moments. “I fear what may be lurking in the dark, just beyond the edge of the land.”

Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

One thought on “Camp NaNoWriMo Update #1”

Leave a Reply

