Announcing my return to high fantasy

It’s been a good six months since I’ve actually worked on my high fantasy series. The planned short break became an extended one and I pushed all of my work over the past two years away to focus on short stories, school, and experimenting. I have promised you all a few different blog-only novels that never surfaced.

The reason behind my switching between novels and short stories so much over the past few months was my determination to finish something for the first time and make it good. I wanted to write something different that explored many different areas, but most of the time my ideas just didn’t get on paper.

I started a novel called Eagle Eye, which would have been a fantasy/military story set in the modern day. I didn’t even start writing it before I decided I didn’t feel like it. Then I started a novel about a civil war in an imaginary nation that would have focused on political themes and character struggles through the crisis. I wrote two chapters and just gave up on it. Then I moved on to The Other Half, an urban fantasy novel that was actually going really well. I wrote six chapters and had most of the novel planned out. I even let my girlfriend read it and she loved it, and she was being honest. A few chapters needed a lot of work and I was prepared to spend this entire summer working on it. I still plan on writing this novel, but something changed.

For the past 8 days I have been in sunny and hot Kailua Kona, Hawai’i on the big island. I spent the week swimming, getting sun-burnt, and reading. My family rented an estate with 5 bedrooms, 6 bathrooms, and a huge pool (70 ft by 27 ft or so). It gave me a chance to think and relax my mind after a stressful senior year of high school.

On June 29, as I was just waking up from strange dreams and getting into the shower like a zombie so that I could catch my plane ride home. In my tired mental state, I remembered that I had brought all of my notes for The Other Half so that I could get the second half of the novel planned out for Camp NaNoWriMo. But then I decided maybe it wouldn’t be a good idea to do that novel for Camp because I have no idea where its going. Plenty of authors write like that, but my mind immediately went back to Prophecy of Euphinor, my high/epic fantasy novel.

I thought about it throughout the day and I started to feel guilty for not staying strong with Prophecy to begin with. I started writing it in 2013, although really the ideas for it had existed since 2009. This novel is my main goal in writing, so why was i not focusing on it?

So, today I am announcing that I will no longer be writing The Other Half for Camp NaNoWriMo. Instead, I will start to revise and rewrite portions of the Prophecy of Euphinor and work towards finishing the final few chapters this year.

This means that I will resume writing everyday and I will start blogging about my progress.

Anyone else picking up an old project or participating in Camp NaNoWriMo?

Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

2 thoughts on “Announcing my return to high fantasy”

  1. I won’t be participating in Camp NaNo this july, i’ve decided to put time into planning my November NaNo – which will be epic fantasy too. I have characters, a setting, and a few plot points to dwell on but no big climax to speak of yet.

    Good luck with Prophecy!

    Like

Leave a Reply

