An update: Broken Pieces

I am in the process of writing up “Broken Pieces,” which is one of the blog-only novels I had promised a long time ago. Many of you guys are already doing weekly series like this where you post a chapter at a time and often don’t worry about how good the grammar is or how well-developed the characters are.

I think its a chance to step out of the mindset I have had with the newspaper and my novel where I fight and fight and stress over being perfect. I mean, it happens when you win 10th place for newspaper at a national convention, but it probably isn’t healthy.

I am at the stage where, like in the music world Def Leppard reached in about 1993, where you work so hard on one thing and doing that one thing right, that it becomes tiresome and repetitive. I’m ready to play around for a while by writing a novel that comes straight from my dreams and didn’t become victim to excessive outlining.

So, I present to you a teaser for “Broken Pieces,” a look at what the first chapter will be about:

What happens when an advanced alien race stumbles upon a distress signal from a planet only seen from laser technology? They go find it obviously, but what happens when the planet under distress happens to be Earth, and an even more advanced alien race is warring with humankind?

“Broken Pieces” will attempt to answer those questions.

Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

Leave a Reply

