Cars

This question was posed by KISW the rock of Seattle’s Facebook page this week:

What was your first car and what is your dream car now?

Well, I’m going to change the question a bit. As an 18-year-old I have only had two cars, so I want to talk a little bit about both of them and then get into my dream car.

My first car

My first car was a 1986 Chevy Silverado that I bought off of my great grandpa with my own money a few years ago. I bought it before I even knew how to drive because it was in pretty bad shape. It ran and all of the parts were there, but it needed some work.

The blue paint was chipping off in spots and rust had taken up much of the front and the tailgate. The passenger side mirror had fallen off and was tied onto the truck with a rope. The dashboard was cracked and the passenger side of the bench seat was torn open, but there was a nice seat cover on it so nobody had to know that.

The biggest problem with it was that the smog filter was broken and Chevy stopped making replacements in 1988 or something like that. Even being in the truck for a minute would leave you smelling like exhaust all day.

Other than that it ran pretty well (until the antifreeze container burst and one of the belts snapped and had to be replaced). We held onto it for a while even after I got my learners permit and got to drive it a few times, but we ended up selling it to my uncle (on the other side of my family, not related to my great grandpa), who still has it today.

My current car

IMG_5178

I currently drive a 2013 Chevy Sonic LT with a turbo engine. My parents bought me the car just a few months before I got my driver’s license.

The car gets great gas mileage and has many cool features, even though I don’t use most of them. It has a number speedometer instead of the old dials, which is nice because you see exactly what speed you are going at all times. It also has a USB port for mp3 players and iPods which simultaneously charges it so your music never goes dead during a road trip. It also comes with Bluetooth settings for iPods and iPhones, although I haven’t set that up, and an in-car phone through On Star that I have never used.

There’s probably a lot more than that but I will never use that fancy stuff anyway. All I need is the USB port and I’m good.

My dream car

The 2013 Chevy Camaro-Trans Am fusion is my dream car.

They are specially made in Florida from 2010 Camaro models with cool paint jobs and modifications, but doing it with a 2013 Camaro would be amazing.

b5fc0466-6365-4328-ace5-20189d3ae8a0

Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

1 thought on “Cars”

Leave a Reply

