My week in review

I apologize for my absence. It’s been an eventful week and I have also had a case of not wanting to post anything. I’ll just recap the last few days before I start writing frequently again.

Saturday, March 21

Saturday was the Washington Journalism Education Association state convention and write-off competition. Luckily for my newspaper staff the convention was held at one of the other high schools in my school district this year, so we were able to drive ourselves and sleep in a bit compared to last year. Last year it was held in Shoreline, Washington which is the town directly north of Seattle. Talk about traffic.

When I arrived it was raining extremely hard, which wouldn’t be bad if it wasn’t for the fact that I was carrying about 200 newspapers for two blocks. I was one of the first to arrive (I think only five other schools were there before me) and I set up my staff’s table and newspaper display.

Then I attended my write-off competition for news writing. In 70 minutes I was able to write a 400 word article on the SBA test, which was our required prompt. I was awarded an Honorable Mention, which is the same award I received last year, despite my article being much much better than before.

The JagWire staff members that participated in the WJEA state convention.
The JagWire staff members that participated in the WJEA state convention.

Eye troubles

I’ve had glasses since I was in fourth grade. I’ve been wearing contacts since I was in seventh grade. Yet, for some reason, I have been getting eye infections for the past year. I’m going to see my eye doctor tomorrow (Friday) to get some special eye drops for my left eye just like the last time this happened.

Senior photos!

My senior photos came in last week, which is very exciting. That’s all I have to say about that.

One of my senior photos, taken at University of Washington - Tacoma.
One of my senior photos, taken at University of Washington – Tacoma.

JagWire updates

I started work on my LAST EVER edition of JagWire last week. The issue doesn’t come until May, but I’m already getting sad about it. JagWire has been my life for three years and now its all coming to an end.

We are going out with a bang by presenting a topic that is rarely touched on by schools: sex-trafficking. It should be a really good issue when it comes out.

Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

Leave a Reply

