This week in rock music – Vol. 2

Read volume 1 here.

There isn’t much in the world of rock music this week. Tons of albums were released, but none of them are really standouts. They all sound the same and I am dying for something different and possibly more upbeat.

February 28 – March 06, 2015

Chasing Yesterday – Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds

Oasis guitarist and co-vocalist Noel Gallagher released a solo album March 3. The album isn’t bad, but it is extremely boring. I was expecting some ’90s alt rock and instead we have the lifeless form of alt rock that seems to dominate rock music these days.

“In the Heat of the Moment” is a standout track simply because it is less boring than the other tracks. Moving on.

UFO is back 

I’ve never listened to much UFO. I’ve only heard a few of their songs, so I really can’t judge if I like their music or not. Their new album, also released March 3, shows that the band can keep going after all of these years.

There isn’t anything terribly exciting going on here, but the talent is there.

“Ballad of the Left Hand Gun” and “Sugar Cane” are standout tracks, which sound like they are out of the ’70s.

Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

Leave a Reply

