This week in rock music – 1

I like writing about music, so I have decided to start a regular weekly feature called “This week in rock music.” Every week I will release a post about my thoughts on the new rock or metal music of the week, or the lack thereof. This is a great opportunity for me and for you, the reader, to discover new music that often goes unnoticed.


February 20 – February 27

Revolution Saints release their first album

Revolution Saints is a new band, but its members have had far-reaching effects on the music industry. Revolution Saints is Jack Blades on bass and occasional vocals (from Night Ranger, Damn Yankees), Deen Castronovo on drums and lead vocals (from Journey, Bad English, Hardline), and Doug Aldrich on guitar (from Whitesnake, Dio).

If you like Journey, you will like this band. They bring back the pop-oriented arena-rock of the early 1980s in force. The band also has a Night Ranger influence, thanks to the presence and song writing of Blades. Many will see this as a return of the ’80s sound they wished was dead forever, but I think this is just another piece in the struggle for the survival of good music.

Kid Rock – First Kiss

Kid Rock is back and better than ever with his new album. It sounds very Bob Seger, and very country-rock. It is straight-forward music that makes you feel good, and I will probably buy the album so that I can blast it during the summer.

Darlia – Petals

I have never heard of this band before, but I’m really digging the Oasis-sound they have. I actually enjoy Brit-pop and Grunge. They released “Stars Are Aligned” as a single in September, but their album just came out this week.

Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

1 thought on “This week in rock music – 1”

Leave a Reply

