The dress

Everyone is talking about the dress: on social media, at school, at my house, etc. The entire thing has gotten out of hand, but somehow I got sucked into it.

I was asked what I saw last night. I answered very calmly, “White and gold.” Everyone agreed with me, the dress of white and gold. I didn’t understand why people were talking about the dress yet. That would would come later in the night, when people began to argue about it on Facebook.

When I woke up this morning, I saw it on the news. It was blue and black, which I thought was weird. Was I seeing both colors at different times, or was this just Adobe Photoshop being misused again?

I concluded the former to be true after seeing it as white and gold again, and then as blue and gold that morning. I put the matter to rest and dealt with Spanish class and the newsmagazine at school. That’s when it came up again.

Most people on my newsmagazine staff had also seen it as both colors, although a few had only seen it as blue and black. I didn’t know what to think.

So, I read up on the university reports and did my own experiment. I took a screenshot of the dress and saved it. It was white and gold. Now, its blue and black. Ugh…perception.

Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

2 thoughts on “The dress”

  1. Optical illusion! I agree the way the photo was taken it appears white and gold, but there was an update on the news site with the woman wearing the dress and it is definitely blue and black. It’s amazon how our eyes perceive colour and how taking bad photos can alter our preceptive.

    Like

    1. Yeah, I find it interesting. I just think its weird that you can see it so many different ways. Like, the picture I used for this was gold and white when I added it, but it now looks black and blue to me. It makes me crazy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

