Applying for a major scholarship

As the Editor-in-Chief of my high school newsmagazine, I am eligible for a $2000 scholarship presented by the Washington Journalism Education Association.

I am going to apply, but the process for this particular scholarship is tough. For most scholarships, you fill out a small form and write a 2-3 page essay. For this scholarship, I have to:

  • Fill out a form
  • Include 3 letters of recommendation
  • Write up a 2 page reflection on journalism
  • Attach a well-designed online portfolio of my work as a journalist that meets the 11 criteria presented on the JEA website

It is going to take a lot of work, but I think that I can do it. I’m going to use class time during 5th period, time at home, and time during Advisory/JAG to work on the portfolio. I am confident that I can do this because someone from my school has won it before, back in 2010, and I am a lot like her in terms of what I have accomplished. Plus, a guy hasn’t won since 2007. Its probably about time for someone like me to take the prize.

Wish me luck.

Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

Leave a Reply

