Deadline week

It is that time again. It’s time for me to stay after school each and every day this week until the dark evening hours, stuffed into the JagWire room to suffer with my fellow editors. We have until 3 p.m. on Friday to design and finalize issue 15.3 of the national award winning JagWire newsmagazine.

This edition, we are publishing some very interesting topics that should make us a strong contender for the 2015 Best of Show award for Washington state. Our main FOCUS magazine topic is cancer. More specifically, a look at the culture surrounding cancer and taking a stand behind those affected by the disease. Within the four-page FOCUS section, we are featuring three staff members that have cancer and honoring a staff member that passed away from cancer in November.

Throughout the rest of the 16-page issue, we are publishing a few articles about the community and some big changes, and our usual dose of student features.

Because of this, I may not have another post until Friday, unless I find the time to scrape up something to publish real quick. If I don’t post anything this week, I wish you all a good week. If I do, I’ll see you then.

Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

Leave a Reply

