It’s game day

Today is the day. NFL playoffs are always a big deal to millions to people in the United States, but today is the only post-season day that I care about so far. It’s the day that the Seattle Seahawks, the defending Super Bowl champs and my home team, will play against the Carolina  Panthers.

I never was a big football fan. I was never really engaged in sports when I was in elementary school or before. I didn’t know how to ride a bike, I couldn’t throw a football, and I couldn’t dribble a basketball.

My parents would take me to go watch the Seattle Mariners play at Safeco Field every now and then, but I never really payed attention. I just enjoyed the garlic fries and the candy. Then the Mariners started to suck again, and we stopped going altogether.

When I was in fourth grade I started watching the Seahawks on TV, because my mom was a huge fan. That was the year of the Seahawk’s first Super Bowl appearance, when they lost to the Pittsburgh Steelers. After that, I would watch the Seahawks sometimes during their regular season.

When Pete Carroll took over from Jim Morra as the head coach, I started watching the Seahawks whenever I was free. That has been true to this day. I don’t think that I missed a game on TV for the past two seasons. This season, I only watched a few games, but I am still a Seahawks fan. I didn’t jump on the bandwagon like everyone else in Washington in the middle of last year, although people at school think I did.

So today I am wearing my Seahawks shirt and waiting for the game to start. Do the hawks have a chance at the Super Bowl again this year? History says no, teams rarely go back to the Super Bowl this quickly. But, with the way the hawks have been playing lately, another Super Bowl appearance seems very possible.

12395161223_661cd605c5_z

Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

Leave a Reply

