My first year of blogging

I started this blog in November of 2013, after I had won National Novel Writing Month. I wanted to make connections with people who, like me, were trying to write a novel.

I got around to posting my first ever blog post in January, and everything seemed to be going very well for me. I received 46 views and 13 visitors that month, which motivated me to keep writing. I stopped posting as frequently as I would have hoped, and by May I was down to only 6 views that month. I had no motivation to write anything after my last post in April, which ultimately led to the downhill slide where I stopped getting views in June. That’s right. I had 0 views in June.

I decided to retire my blog. I am very self concious about my writing to begin with, so why post on it anyway? Well, something made me return to WordPress in July, and that’s when I noticed that my writing was improving.

In July I had 42 views, which made it my second best month up to that point, after January. I started posting just about every other day at the latter end of the month, which led to an even more successful August.

I let my blog slip again in September, only posting once. October and November, however, saw a massive number of readers visiting this blog, and I was motivated once again. I learned that I shouldn’t give up. Had I stopped entirely in April, I would have missed out on all of the flash fiction that I wrote during the summer, and perhaps all of the knowledge I have gained by reading the posts of my fellow writers.

To sum up my first year in blogging, I am going to share some statistics:

Total 2014 views: 432

Total 2014 visitors: 280

Total 2014 likes: 137

Posts published: 50 (this makes 51, and I might have a 52)

Most viewed post: Best Songs of 2014

Most successful month: November with 82 views

Least successful month: June with 0 views

Most successful week: Week of October 13th with 42 views.

There hasn’t been a week with 0 views since July 7th. 

I want to thank all of you for reading my blog. I look forward to going to new places in 2015.

Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

1 thought on “My first year of blogging”

Leave a Reply

