Finishing NaNoWriMo

It was just past 6 p.m. on November 28th, and my fingers were on fire. They had typed another 5k word day and it was time to finish. I only needed 40 more words, and Iron Maiden’s “Aces High” was blaring from my Sony stereo system. It was already dark outside, already close to freezing (it actually snowed! First snow of the season, and it has already melted away), but I was on fire.

I took a big sigh of relief when I pasted my novel into the word count validator and the National Novel Writing Month webpage sent me to a YouTube video of congratulations and a print-out Winner’s certificate. I had finished my second NaNoWriMo, and it felt good. 2-0 baby, 2-0.

Winner-2014-Web-Banner

I took the rest of the night off from writing. I watched the newest episode of NBC’s “Grimm” and farted around on YouTube and decided to purge my computer of some older files I didn’t need anymore.

I also sat down with my brother’s wife, Jackie, and spoke with her about my future plans. I had just received my newest SAT scores, which are 1740 something, and I am preparing to apply for college. I am looking into doing IT work, and that is what Jackie is currently employed with at Green Mountain Coffee’s big facility in a nearby town.

I am thinking about applying to Pierce Community College to get my AA in programming, and then transfer to University of Washington – Tacoma to get my BA/BS in IT Systems. My brother’s friend also followed this exact path and he now works for Boeing.

So, to sum all of that up, I basically got my life back. Curse you NaNo, curse you and your attention grabbing…anyway. If you didn’t participate in NaNoWriMo this year, you missed out.

Now a day after winning, I find myself in a predicament. My novel isn’t done! I wanted to take a break, but I’m not sure that I can. I just want to finish it, to write THE END, and then begin the editing stages. I probably have five or six chapters to go, but I’m really not in the mood to write. But then again, I sat around all day wondering what I’m supposed to do with all of this extra time.

Homework? I don’t want to start until tomorrow, but I may find myself heading in that direction…after I try to force myself to puke out another chapter.

It’s not that I don’t like my novel, because I do. I love it. It needs some heavy editing and reworking, but the plot is amazing. My problem is that I am currently stuck on a travelling chapter. I HATE travelling chapters. I try to throw in as much action as I can, such as wolf attacks or hunting or stories around the fire, but it gets tiresome. How did the fantasy greats do it? How did they manage to write entire novels about travelling?

If someone knows, please tell me before I kill a character or do something stupid…

I will leave you all with a chart of my NaNoWriMo totals, which you can read into or just skip over.


  1. 3756
  2. 7760
  3. 7760
  4. 7760
  5. 7760
  6. 7760
  7. 8902
  8. 10653
  9. 14871
  10. 15513
  11. 20729
  12. 20729
  13. 20729
  14. 20729
  15. 23699
  16. 26741
  17. 26741
  18. 26741
  19. 26741
  20. 26741
  21. 28307
  22. 29534
  23. 35037
  24. 38532
  25. 39777
  26. 43642
  27. 45002
  28. 50064

Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

2 thoughts on “Finishing NaNoWriMo”

  1. Congratulations!

    I finished yesterday with 57k total. I finished my novel, but the last two chapters were completely rushed through as I wanted to validate it Friday night before my Christmas Party at work. I’m not sure if i’ll call my plot ‘amazing’, it’s filled with plot holes and contradictions, but I would love to the chance to go through it again and build up and correct things and see how that turns out.

    Again Congratulations!

    Like

Leave a Reply

