Preparing for National Novel Writing Month

Is it that time of year again? It all seems to have gone by so fast. One year ago, I was speaking with my friends at school about writing, and they kept talking about something called National Novel Writing Month. I had learned from them that this event took place every November, and that it was a great way to write, because 50,000 words were needed to be considered a winner.

I thought that it was a great idea, but who would ever have the time for that? So, I put the thoughts of NaNoWriMo onto the back burner and continued about my business, focusing on JagWire, Halloween, and getting through the second month of my junior year. Before I knew it, it was November, and I had made up my mind.

On November 3rd, 2013, I decided to try NaNoWriMo. Now, joining at that stage is a bit challenging. For starters, I had to create an account and set up my novel on the THIRD day of writing. This immediately put me 5000 words behind.

To sum up that entire month, here is my total word count by day last year:

  • 1: 0
  • 2: 0
  • 3: 1453
  • 4: 2426
  • 5: 4245
  • 6: 5203
  • 7: 5343
  • 8: 7407
  • 9: 10531
  • 10: 14031
  • 11: 18076
  • 12: 19233
  • 13: 19828
  • 14: 21387
  • 15: 21708
  • 16: 23050
  • 17: 27150
  • 18: 27363
  • 19: 28435
  • 20: 28435
  • 21: 28435
  • 22: 30876
  • 23: 34014
  • 24: 38030
  • 25: 38030
  • 26: 41031
  • 27: 43103
  • 28: 46107
  • 29: 50016
  • 30: 50016

Now, I am busy preparing myself for my second NaNo adventure, and this time I will be ready to start on time. November 1st is on a Saturday, meaning that I can start off strong before having to balance my time with school and the newspaper.

Participant-2014-Web-Banner

I have my charts ready, my plans thought out, and my novel already created on the NaNo site. Now all there is, is the big wait.

Are any of you participating in NaNoWriMo this year? How are you preparing?

Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

4 thoughts on “Preparing for National Novel Writing Month”

    1. Scrivener is a good writing program that allows you to create character templates and setting sheets, which can be very helpful.

      I usually just use a notebook to write up the entire plot outline. I believe that if you know how your story will end, your characters will help you get there.

      I have a friend who is going to give me a really cool character template, so I will share that with you when I get it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I will have to check out Scrivener. I have heard good things about it before.

        I have been using a journal to write out my plot thus far, and I was looking for an electronic format to put it into.

        That’s really awesome if you share the template! 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

