Revising my book series plan

As with many authors, I have planned out how many books I want to write in my epic fantasy series. Each book already has a plot scribbled out, enclosed in my notebook of ideas and world building. Some ideas even make their way to the corkboard above my desk.

The number of books I had planned to write in my epic fantasy series, Egaethor, was 11. The list looked like the following:

  • The Guardian of Egaethor series
    • Prophecy of Misharedra
    • Warden of One
    • Paladins of Euphinor
  • The Destiny of Egaethor series
    • Progeny of None
    • Trail of Visions
    • Heritage of Zeylon
    • Throne of Gods
    • Demon of Zardoclya
  • The New Darkness of Egaethor series
    • Sons of the South
    • Passing of Legends
    • Angel Stone of Zelrione 

Each series would deal with a different set of protagonists. The characters from each series would be downgraded to secondary characters, so it wouldn’t be like a whole new book series, but it would be different enough to where you wouldn’t need to have read the series before. 

Based on the way I have been writing Prophecy of Misharedra, I decided that the series needed some revising to match my new vision for the world of Egaethor. My new plan looks more like this:

  • The Guardian of Egaethor
    • Prophecy of Euphinor
    • Warden of One
  • The Destiny of Egaethor
    • Child of None
    • Heritage of Zeylon
    • Throne of Misharedra
    • Demon of Zardoclya
  • The New Darkness of Egaethor
    • Sons of the South
    • Ruler of Gods (?)
    • Angel Stone of Zelrione 
  • Post-New Darkness of Egaethor stand alone
    • Gift of Man

For now, I plan to take a break from the series for a few weeks. The past year of working on it has really kept me from writing short stories and other stories that I want to tell. I will come back to the series sometime in September, and then of course, for NaNoWriMo and beyond. 

Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

Leave a Reply

