Redesigning a newsmagazine: fonts, fonts, and more fonts

Once I was that person who believed that fonts were all the same. You had your ‘handwriting’ fonts, your bold fonts, and your regular fonts. Over the past two years I have paid much more attention to fonts, mostly because of my current position of co-editor-in-chief of my school newsmagazine, JagWire. I can now easily recognize the differences between script, serif, sans serif, and I pay close attention to the spacing, thickness, and whether or not a font is light, bold, or semi-bold. There are so many characteristics of certain types of fonts, and now I am stuck trying to figure out what the best ones are.

When I applied to become the editor-in-chief of JagWire, (a promotion from my position last year as the news section editor/designer) it was right after I had gotten back from the JEA/NSPA convention in San Diego. I had learned so much about what makes a good, appealing newspaper, and I wanted to turn JagWire around.

Now, with the help of my fellow wonderful and creative co-editor-in-chief, I can make it happen.

JagWire currently uses a bunch of stale and uninteresting font combinations  such as MS Reference Serif, Khmer UI, and Helvetica. While I’m not hating on these fonts, they looking boring when together. As the first part of the paper’s redesign, the old fonts MUST GO!

So, I have picked a few of my favorites:

Headlines:

  • Berlin Sans FB
  • Bernard MT
  • Century Gothic
  • Franklin Gothic

Body Text:

  • Baskerville Old Face
  • Adobe Minion Pro
  • Centaur
  • Garamond
  • Lucida Bright
  • Georgia

These fonts aren’t super exciting either, but they offer a cleaner and more professional look that what the existing fonts offer. The other important thing is that they have to follow AP style and the recommendations of JEA/NSPA/WJEA.

Once we all agree on fonts, the fun part begins: choosing our new design. More on that next week. For now, I will leave you with a list of fonts I want banned from JagWire:

To Be Banned From JagWire (hopefully):

  • Courier New
  • Old English Text
  • Nyala
  • SimHei
  • Times New Roman
  • Arial
  • Calibri
  • AR Essence
  • Dotumche
  • Gulimche
  • Impact
  • KaiTi
  • Lucida Condensed
  • MS Reference Serif
  • Microsoft Sans Serif
  • MS Reference Sans Serif
  • Comic Sans
Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

Leave a Reply

