Winning Camp NaNoWriMo

After 24 days of writing almost nonstop I could see the end of Camp NaNoWriMo. After slacking off for the last few days I still managed to write about 54,000 words. I was waiting at 12:00 a.m. on July 25th to hit the validate my word count button, and as I did so I breathed a short sigh of relief.

As with National Novel Writing Month in November, I instantly went to the winners’ goodies page and navigated my way through the library of software discounts and free publishing tips. I downloaded my winner’s certificate and shut down my Hp Envy m6 notebook for the night.

Winners' banner from Camp NaNoWriMo
Winners’ banner from Camp NaNoWriMo

I took a break for a few days, wanting to slip back into my summer schedule and finish my AP summer homework for my upcoming AP Government & Politics class and my AP Literature class. I succeeded with the former, and I managed to get a considerable amount done with the latter. Throughout the whole thing, I had an itch in my mind. My inner writing was screaming “FINISH! FINISH YOUR NOVEL!”

Camp NaNoWriMo may be over, but my novel Prophecy of Misharedra is far from done. I am currently at 118 pages out of what may end up being a close to 300 paged novel. The quest for the prophecy has only completed half of its trek across dangerous lands, and the rest must be completed before the novel comes to a temporary close before I work on its sequel.

All I need to do is keep writing and to stay away from distractions!

Everyone now! (In the tune to “School’s Out” by Alice Cooper, who, by the way, I am seeing live today with Motley Crue).

No more YouTube, no more reading, no more hanging out with friends. (Like that’s gonna happen…)

Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

2 thoughts on “Winning Camp NaNoWriMo”

Leave a Reply

