Camp NaNoWriMo: An Excerpt From My Novel

For Camp NaNoWriMo this month I have been rewriting my novel from National Novel Writing Month in November. It isn’t really a revision because I never finished the draft of my NaNo novel, despite reaching the goal of 50k words in under a month. This time, I am trying to finish a full draft of the novel so that the real revision can begin.

And it is now my pleasure to post an excerpt of my novel. I will be doing more of these throughout the year as my novel becomes more and more the way I want it to be. Without further ado, here is an excerpt from Prophecy of Misharedra, the prologue: Sanctuary. Enjoy and comment with your feedback/ criticism, my feelings won’t be hurt.


 

Ascateheleah raised a wrinkled hand, silencing the man. “I understand your worries, Austrevur. I share the same concerns, but I don’t see any way around it. She goes to her family, where she will be safe,” he said hoarsely.

“Safe from what?” Austrevur questioned. “I don’t think anyone besides those in the Order even know that Lisuacar and Egarnas Justiques had a child. The attack was a freak incident, nothing more.”

“I’m not so sure about that,” Ascateheleah admitted, scratching his beard. “At any rate, Gasheicium is going to bring the baby with a few others of the Order. I told them not to come along, but they insisted. Ah, there they are now.”

A group of robed individuals wearing silly hats: pointed hats, lopsided hats, and flat hats, approached them. The ones in the front carried small lanterns with green flames, and another carried a white bundle in his arms, which was cradled like it was made of precious glasswork.

“You expect no one to notice a group of silly looking people with lanterns?” Austrevur shot out, his face turning tomato red. “The flames are green for Zeylon’s sake! What happened to this being a secret operation?”

Ascateheleah smiled at this outburst. He seemed to find the situation humorous. “May I offer you a flask of Euphinorian Mint Ale? You seem to need it. If anyone sees us we can simply wipe their memory clean.”

“I have some at home, but…” Austrevur took up the offer as the cloaked men and women surrounded them. The man with the baby was frowning.

“What happened to Lisuacar and Egarnas…it is a sad day. Do we know who attacked their vessel, Sir?”

Ascateheleah smiled at the baby girl. “No, we do not. It very well could have been pirates, but seeing as the eternal storms have kicked up again in the North…”

“No!” The man yelled in shock. “Zardocyla? Surely not, Faspeu is still sleeping.”

“For now. Gasheicium, it would seem that we have all been mistaken. Dark times lie ahead of us all; we just need to be ready for when they strike. How is the girl?”

Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

2 thoughts on “Camp NaNoWriMo: An Excerpt From My Novel”

  1. One thing I noticed was your dialogue tags–there’s a lot of talking going on, but you only use “said” once, instead defaulting to more fanciful, unnecessary tags. It’s generally preferable to stick to “said,” more often than not, so just something you might want to consider.

    Like

Leave a Reply

