Camp NaNoWriMo April 2014

 

Tomorrow is the start of April’s Camp NaNoWriMo, a day I have been anxiously awaiting since “winning” National Novel Writing Month in November. But for me, today marks the start of the writing frenzy. I don’t mean to “cheat” by starting early, but this decision comes out of necessity. 

Tomorrow I get all four of my wisdom teeth removed, which means I will be unable to write tomorrow or probably the following day. So, its really not cheating, more of just planning ahead. 

It will be a miracle if I reach my goal of 30,000 words. April is a busy month with recovery for my wisdom teeth, then a 4-day trip to San Diego next week for the National Scholastic Press Association/ Journalism Education Association national convention to take classes and participate in a write-off competition. I will not be taking my laptop with me because I am afraid it would be stolen by my roomates, 3 other students from my high school. These setbacks may prevent me from doing much, but that is okay.

Participant 2014 - Facebook Cover

Now for the good stuff: what am I writing? Well, I will be trying to write a genre and style I have never used before, so it should be interesting. In brief, the novel will be set in the City of Destiny: Tacoma, Washington, in the 2020s. It will follow the life of a young man attending the UW-T to become an Urban Planner, but his family is keeping his dreams from coming true. His family, of course, being members of a motorcycle club responsible for much illegal activity and corruption in the city. 

So this brings me to my conclusion, what is your favorite part of writing a novel? What is your favorite thing to see in a novel?

Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

Leave a Reply

