Dreams that remain

Sorry for the gap in posts. I have been finishing up another short story that should be posted in the next few days. For now, you can read some of my reflections.  

Have you had those dreams that seem exceptionally long? How about those dreams that feel real and carry more detail than usual? I had one of those nights. I’m not sure if it had anything to do with what has been going on lately, but it seems like a likely candidate.

As it has been for the past two weeks I had some discomfort with going to sleep. I keep trying to blame it on my ear piercings but I doubt that is the cause. Its like my pillow has betrayed me. No matter which way I try to sleep or how many times I flip the pillow over or try to fluff it out a bit I can’t find comfort. I also had a few thoughts on my mind, but that wasn’t what was keeping me from sleeping. January 29 was going to be Culture Day in Spanish 2 and I had to give a presentation. I hadn’t prepared, but I knew I would do fine anyway. I was very knowledgeable on the subject. 

Eventually, I did find my way slipping through the cracks to the sleeping world sometime after 10:15 PM. I am not one to usually have dreams. I know, my psychology friends would kill me for saying that. Fine, I am unable to recall most of my dreams when I wake up. It wasn’t one of those nights. My dream was one of those long-lasting, vivid ones that feel real. Even though everything was twisted from what it should be, as are with dreams, it felt real. The fact that the dream took place on January 29 definitely helped with that. 

Upon waking up to the loud and obnoxious beeping of my alarm clock at 5:25 AM this morning I could recall the dream very well. Waking up almost startled me to be honest. But the important thing about this dream isn’t that it happened, it is what I am going to do with it. The dream provided me with a foundation for a future novel or novella. What happened in that dream will remain between me and my ideas journal for now. 

The dream almost succeed in escaping from its cage within my mind while my attention was turned elsewhere. I was supposed to write it down, but it had led me to forget. I went through the last day of the semester at school without even thinking of the dream, even when a discussion about dreams had been brought up. But now I have it and I am not going to lose it.

I have lost too many dreams. 

Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

Leave a Reply

