Out my past door: Volume One

This is the first part of a collection of short stories and flash fiction that I wrote a while ago. The ones you are about to read were written when I was in the ninth grade. As promised in an earlier posting, I found them in my ninth grade files. I had forgotten that some of these entries even existed. I am posting them just as they were found, grammar errors and everything. 

~Chase~

Darkness: Written February 6, 2012. I wrote this in 20 minutes during a free write time. I remember sharing this one to the class.

The world was silent. The crimson lightning struck into the distant hills, obliterating a piece of Earth that would never return. The boney trees spoke of death that frightful night, something they know much too well. A thick black mist shrouded the base of the hill like a barrier to the good in the world. The howls of wolves sounded in the night, screaming of hunger: something they know much too well. Even the careless settlers in Angark’s Hollow were fearful of the night, something new and frightening. The great wizard  tried to calm the town, promising a better tomorrow, but not one soul calmed down. How could you when you just witnessed the cold, dark face of the reaper?

Misfortune: Written February 13, 2012. I believe this was an in-class prompt and we had to use the word lugubriousness. I don’t remember writing it, but I do remember reading it aloud one time to someone. 

In the land of Charunte, you may not know, there is a man with a cat, who always wears a hat, and loves to bat when you step on his mat. Silly you say? I say ridiculous! The man is a fake, a different person in the real world than who we see.

You may have seen him by the lollipop tree, waving his pink hat to spread joy. You may have heard him whistle a tune from his smiling lips. You may have even watched him boot scoot boogie with his neighbors. But alas, you have only seen his mask. Let me tell you how he really feels.

That man is a misfortune. He spends his solemn nights alone. Alone, due to an irreversible mishap. Due to his lugubriousness, he weeps into his pillow, hoping to lock himself out of this truly cruel world, from the world that killed his wife. From the world, he watched, as his wife died.

Insanity: Written February 13, 2012. I don’t remember anything about this one, but it was interestingly written on the same day as Misfortune. 

Mirror, Mirror, oh how you saved me

Saved me from myself

Oh how you helped me

See the best of myself

Mirror, Mirror, oh how you have saved me.

You can stop talking to your friend.

That mirror isn’t real, its inanimate.

Listen to me, I am you and you are me.

The world likes you best with your insanity.

Author: Chase Charaba

Hello there! I'm Chase, an ambitious, aspiring young novelist and YouTuber who hopes to get a novel published one day. I'm also trying to produce the highest quality YouTube videos by constantly learning new ways to film and edit. I've been involved in journalism for 5 years, including 1 year as co-editor of a national award-winning high school newsmagazine and 1 year as the co-editor of an award-winning college newspaper. I write mainly epic/high fantasy, but I also mess around with science fiction, horror, and realistic fiction.

Leave a Reply

